Joe Wise Elected 1st Deputy Speaker

Ghana’s Parliament after a long night of drama has by consensus retained Joe Osei Wusu as the 1st Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Both NDC and NPP MPs also by consensus have settled on Amoako Andrew Asiamah, the Member of Parliament-elect for the Fomena constituency as the 2nd Deputy Speaker of the 8th Parliament.

Mr Asiamah was sacked from parliament and disowned by the NPP for going independent in the run up to the 2020 elections.

He however, won the elections as an independent convincingly and has indicated his willingness to sit with the NPP in Parliament.

The decision by the MPs came after the former MP for Nadowli-Kaleo, Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin surprisingly won the Speakership race polling 138 votes to beat incumbent Speaker, Professor Mike Oquaye.

Post a Comment