Lockdown of Accra, Tema, Kasoa and Kumasi announced by the President

Information reaching The Credible News is details of the lockdown of Accra, Tema, Kasoa and Kumasi  as announced by the President of Ghana His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo.

President Akufo-Addo has announced that effective Monday, 30th March, 2020 at 1 am under the Imposition of Restrictions Act, 2020 (Act 1012), there will be restrictions on movement of persons in the Greater Accra Metropolitan Area (GAMA, which include Awutu Senya East ), and the Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts, for a period of two (2) weeks or 14 days  subject to review.

The decision, according to the President is to help curb the spread of COVID-19 which has led to four deaths and infected some 137 people

They will only be relaxed if the evidence shows a decline in the spread of the virus.

The president in a televised speech last Friday evening said the police and other relevant authorities will be given new powers to enforce the measures.


In Greater Accra, the following areas will be affected:

1.Accra Metropolis;

2.Tema Metropoli

3.Tema West Municipality;

4.Ledzokuku Municipality;

5.Krowor Municipality;

6.Adentan Municipality;

7.Ashiaman Municipality;

8.La-Nkwantanang-Madinaa Municipality

9.La-Dade-Kotopon Municipality;

10.Okaikwei North Municipality;

11.Ablekuma North Municipality

12.Ablekuma West Municipality

13.Ablekuma Central Municipality;

14.Ayawaso East Municipality;

15.Ayawaso North Municipality;

16.Ayawaso West Municipality;

17.Ayawaso Central Municipality

18.Ga West Municipality;

19.Ga North Municipality;

20.Ga Central Municipality;

21.Ga South Municipality;

22.Ga East Municipality;

23.Korle-Klottey Municipality;

24.Weija/Gbawe Municipality;

25.Kpone Katamanso Municipality; and

26.Awutu Senya East Municipality.



1.Kumasi Metropolis;

2.Asokwa Municipality;

3.Suame Municipality;

4.Old Tafo Municipality;

5.Oforikrom Municipality;

6.Asokore Mampong Municipality;

7.Kwadaso Municipality;

8.Atwima Nwabiagya Municipality;

9.Kwabre East Municipality;

10.Ejisu Municipality;

11.Afigya-Kwabre South District;

  1. Bosomtwi District;

13.Atwima Kwanwoma District; and

14.Atwima Nwabiagya North District.


This means that everyone resident in these areas must stay at home for the next two weeks or 14 days,  However, if you must go out, it must only be to get essential items such as food, water, medicine, undertake banking transactions, or to use public toilet facilities. But, as much as possible, stay at home.


Riders of motorbikes are not allowed to carry any additional person, and all intra-city passenger vehicles, such as trotros and taxis, must reduce the number of passengers in order to observe appropriate social distancing and hygiene protocols.


Individuals and institutions providing the following services shall be exempted from the restrictions:

  • Members of the Executive, Legislature and the Judiciary;

  • Production, distribution and marketing of food, beverages, pharmaceuticals, medicine, paper and plastic packages.

  • Environmental and sanitation activities;

  • VALCO staff

  • Road and Railway construction workers;

  • Mining workers;

  • Fisherfolk;

  • Members of the security agencies assigned lawful duties;

  • The staff of electricity, water, telecommunications, e-commerce and digital service providers; and

  • Fuel stations staff.



Post a Comment